Speaking at Council Meetings

You may choose to speak to Council either virtually by joining the Zoom webinar, or in person in the Council Chamber at City Hall. The public is encouraged to participate virtually, as seating is limited in the Council Chamber.

Members of the public can sign up to speak at Council meetings on nights when a Public Hearing is not being held. All requests must be received by 12:00 pm on the day of the meeting.

The online sign-up form opens six days before the scheduled meeting. See the schedule below.

Council Meeting Date Speaker Form Open Date
Monday, January 10 Tuesday,  January 4
Monday, February 14 Tuesday, February 8
Monday, February 28 Tuesday, February 22
Monday, March 7 Tuesday, March 1
Monday, April 11 Tuesday, April 5
Monday, April 25 Tuesday, April 19
Monday, May 9 Tuesday, May 3
Monday, June 13 Tuesday, June 7
Monday, July 11 Tuesday, July 5
Monday, August 29 Tuesday, August 23
Monday, September 26 Tuesday, September 20
Monday, October 3 Tuesday, September 27
Monday, November 28 Tuesday, November 22

 

Sign up to speak to Council in one of the following ways:

  • fill out the online Request to Speak form;
  • email: , with your preferred contact information and a short description of your topic; or,
  • call 604-527-4523 and leave your name, phone number, and the topic you wish to discuss.


IMPORTANT NOTE: Speaking about proposed changes to the City’s Official Community Plan, Land Use or Zoning Bylaws is not allowed in the period between when a bylaw has received second reading and it is considered for adoption. Click here for a list of bylaws currently in this category.

City staff will contact you to confirm your request by 2:00 p.m. on the day the meeting.

If you would like to share any documents or a PowerPoint presentation during the meeting, please send your presentation to no later than noon on the Friday before the meeting.